[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Synopsys
    [category_nicename] => synopsys
    [category_parent] => 157
)

Retooling Implementation for Hot Applications

Retooling Implementation for Hot Applications
by Bernard Murphy on 05-17-2018 at 7:00 am

It might seem I am straying from my normal beat in talking about implementation; after all, I normally write on systems, applications and front-end design. But while I’m not an expert in implementation, I was curious to understand how the trending applications of today (automotive, AI, 5G, IoT, etc.) create new demands on implementation, over and above the primarily application-independent challenges associated with advancing semiconductor processes. So, with apologies in advance to the deep implementation and process experts, I’m going to skip those (very important) topics and talk instead about my application perspectives.

21621-fusion-technology-min.jpg
An obvious area to consider is low power design. Automotive, mobile (phone and AR/VR) and IoT applications obviously depend on low power (even in a car, all the electronics we are adding can quickly drain the battery). AI is also becoming very power-critical, especially as it increasingly moves to the edge for FaceID, voice recognition and similar features. 5G on the edge, in enhanced mobile broadband applications for example, must be very carefully power managed thanks to heavy MIMO support and the consequent parallelism required to support high throughput rates.