You are currently viewing SemiWiki as a guest which gives you limited access to the site. To view blog comments and experience other SemiWiki features you must be a registered member. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Poll: When will we have driverless cars for the masses?

This poll will close on 05-27-2019 at 09:45 AM

Thread: When will we have driverless cars for the masses?

Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,167
    Given: 2,584

When will we have driverless cars for the masses?

Interesting interview with Simon Segars, CEO of ARM. Nice piece of history. I have been researching automotive IP for a blog and have been asking how long will it be until we have driverless cars? According to Elon Musk it is right around the corner but as a semiconductor professional I am a bit less optimistic.

When will we have driverless cars for the masses?-simon-segars.jpg

Will Arm's Simon Segars Do For Self-Driving Cars What He Did For The Mobile Phone?

I do know however that quite a few companies are working on it. Automotive is one of those market segments where systems companies are now developing their own chips. We see this first hand on SemiWiki as we track our automotive related blogs and the domains that read them. To date we have published 354 automotive blogs that have been viewed close to 1.5M times by more than 1k different domains. It really is the who's who of the automotive industry.

So the question is: When will driverless (fully autonomous) cars come to the masses?

0 Not allowed!
    Last edited by Daniel Nenni; 3 Weeks Ago at 09:56 AM.
    Now available in print or Kindle: "Mobile Unleashed: The Origin and Evolution of ARM Processors In Our Devices"

Thumbs Up
    Received: 336
    Given: 397
    Perhaps sooner in constrained environments. I saw one suggestion of driverless cars in gated communities for retirees. Makes sense.

0 Not allowed!

Thumbs Up
    Quote Originally Posted by Bernard Murphy View Post