You are currently viewing SemiWiki as a guest which gives you limited access to the site. To view blog comments and experience other SemiWiki features you must be a registered member. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Thread: Room Temperature Superconductivity Graphene, Real World?

Expert
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 410
    Given: 363

Room Temperature Superconductivity Graphene, Real World?

Room temperature superconductivity has been achieved and verified in experiment after experiment. Does anyone have any input on this from the information in the link below. With this become the holy grail of superconductivity or just a laboratory curiosity? If it is so, are there any estimates when a prototype processor could be built and if there really is a commercial future? Any thoughts or opinions solicited and welcome even if just an educated guess. I have been studying graphene for about seven years and this seems one of the most exciting developments.

Surprise graphene discovery could unlock secrets of superconductivity

0 Not allowed!

Thumbs Up
    Received: 364
    Given: 427
    Their technique of aligning two graphene layers at 1.1 degrees becomes superconducting at 1.7 degrees above absolute zero, so that's a huge distance away from room temperature.

0 Not allowed!
    Daniel Payne, EDA Consultant
    www.MarketingEDA.com

Expert
    Thumbs Up
    My mistake, sorry about that. This is where I got the room temperature from. Guess I was trying to read to fast, but maybe someday it might come true.

When twisted into ‘magic angle’, graphene becomes a superconductor

0 Not allowed!
    Last edited by Arthur Hanson; 03-08-2018 at 07:00 PM.

Influencer
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 23
    Given: 5