[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Moortec
    [category_nicename] => moortec
    [category_parent] => 14433
)

Accuracy of In-Chip Monitoring for Thermal Guard-banding

Accuracy of In-Chip Monitoring for Thermal Guard-banding
by Daniel Payne on 01-28-2019 at 12:00 pm

I remember working at Intel and viewing my first SPICE netlist for a DRAM chip, because there was this temperature statement with a number after it, so being a new college graduate I asked lots of questions, like, “What is that temperature value?”

My co-worker answered, “Oh, that’s the estimated junction temperature of the chip.”

The next question was, “What do you mean estimated, don’t we know what the junction temperature actually is?”

With a slight grimace, the co-worked replied, “Well, we don’t know what the actual junction temperature is until we fabricate it, package it up, place it in the tester, then measure it. So we just estimate the junction temperature based on past experience, then put that number in SPICE.”

My naive engineering bubble had just burst, because I assumed that my professional colleagues in industry knew a lot more about the DRAM chips that they were designing than to simply guess at a temperature for use in SPICE, then hope for the best when silicon came back. Today, however, the IC design landscape has changed quite a bit, even to the point that engineers can place an actual IP block on their chip that will dynamically measure the local temperature in real time, aka In-Chip Monitoring.

Going back to the DRAM example at Intel we first started out packaging the memory device in a rather expensive ceramic package which had excellent thermal properties, but then for cost-savings we would migrate to a cheaper plastic package with poor thermal properties, so knowing the junction temperature made a huge difference in the operation of the DRAM and the profit margin of our product.