[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Foundries
    [category_nicename] => semiconductor-manufacturers
    [category_parent] => 0
)

Cleaning Trends for Advanced Nodes

Cleaning Trends for Advanced Nodes
by Scotten Jones on 04-09-2018 at 12:00 pm

I was invited to give a talk at the Business of Cleans Conference held by Linx Consulting in Boston on April 9th. I am not a cleans expert but rather was invited more to give an overview talk on process technology trends and the impact on cleans. In this write up I will discuss my presentation. I discussed each of the three main leading-edge technology segments, DRAM, Logic and NAND.

DRAM
In my first DRAM slide I present the DRAM nodes by company and year. Micron Technology, Samsung and SK Hynix dominate the DRAM market and I present the nodes for all three companies. DRAM nodes are currently defined based on the smallest half-pitch on the devices, for Micron this is the word line and for Samsung and SK Hynix is based on active.

Underneath the chart are some images of key technology developments. On the left side, the saddle fin access transistor with buried word line is shown. The saddle fin with buried word line is the current standard for access transistors. On the middle and bottom right, the evolution of DRAM capacitors to finer pitch – high aspect ratio structures is shown.

21446-slide3.jpg

Presentation slide 3. DRAM Nodes