[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Silvaco
    [category_nicename] => silvaco
    [category_parent] => 14433
)

Using a TCAD Tool to simulate Electrochemistry

Using a TCAD Tool to simulate Electrochemistry
by Daniel Payne on 11-02-2017 at 12:00 pm

In college I took courses in physics, calculus, chemistry and electronics on my way to earn a BSEE degree, then did an 8 year stint as a circuit designer, working at the transistor level and interacting with fab and test engineers. My next adventure was working at EDA companies in a variety of roles. As a circuit designer I knew that we had software tools like SPICE to help us simulate the timing, power, currents and detailed operation of transistor devices, cells, blocks and modules. What I’ve come to learn about is that device technology engineers also need software tools to help them simulate electrical, chemical, optical and thermal behavior of semiconductor devices. Silvaco recently held a webinar on Wednesday, so I attended to learn about TCAD Simulation of Ion Transport and Electrochemistry.

Very quickly I learned the definition of Electrochemistry by our presenter Dr. Carl Hylin.
Electrochemistry describes the chemical interactions between electrons, holes, ions and uncharged chemical species.

I felt pretty comfortable as an EE to hear familiar terms like electrons, holes and ions, but chemical species was a new term for me. There are at least four major applications where knowing what is happening at the electrochemical level is mandatory:

• Standard semiconductor devices

• Shockley-Read-Hall (SRH) recombination
    • Auger recombination
    • Charge trapping
  • Displays

• Degradation in amorphous TFTs
  • Spacecraft electronics

• Enhanced low-dose-rate sensitivity
  • Non-volatile memories (RRAM), solid state batteries

• Ion transport and charge storage