[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Mobile
    [category_nicename] => mobile
    [category_parent] => 0
)

Augmented Reality Broke My iPhone!

Augmented Reality Broke My iPhone!
by Daniel Nenni on 08-04-2017 at 12:00 pm

As a semiconductor professional I am always looking for the “next big thing” that will spur growth in our industry. Mobile, IoT, Automotive, and AI are the current leaders we closely track on SemiWiki.com. Last year I delved into augmented reality via the Pokemon Go game and after a solid year of research (yes I finished the game) here is my report.

To be clear: Augmented Reality (AR) integrates a physical real-world view into a software application. In Pokemon Go’s case it uses the camera and overlays the game onto your surroundings. Even more important, Pokemon Go is a geolocation game that tracks your every move, provides a street map (via Google maps), and integrates other local information into your game. PokeStops for example are based on real places such as businesses (all Starbucks have PokeStops or PokeGyms), historical landmarks, places of interest, etc…

The first thing you will do when you play Pokemon Go is turn off the camera option because it is annoying and completely unnecessary. I can certainly see applications where this would work but not with a game where your screen represents what you can see directly in front of you. The second thing you will do is turn of the music and sound effects because they are mind numbing, especially since you have to play this game for hours and hours to get anywhere.