[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Intel
    [category_nicename] => intel
    [category_parent] => 158
)

Another Interesting Thing From TSMC!

Another Interesting Thing From TSMC!
by Daniel Nenni on 01-21-2017 at 7:00 am

As I mentioned in my previous post, the TSMC investor call this month was very interesting and Morris Chang was in fine form during the Q&A. As a semiconductor professional I think some of the questions are ridiculous but maybe they have value to the financial people. This one question from Randy, who I think is very astute, is SemiWiki discussion worthy:

Randy Abrams
Yes, thank you. The first question, I wanted to ask your outlook is more in line with the industry where you are guiding 5% to 10% for foundry near similar levels. Could you talk about the factors to be more inline after gaining the last few years? And can you also address the China business; we are seeing the China foundries grow faster. SMIC is growing 20% to 30%, how does TSMC combat or defend share more on the mature nodes, where they’re starting to grow faster?

(At the bottom it says SMIC is partially owned by TSMC. TSMC did get a 10% equity stake after the IP litigation which I thought TSMC had already divested. Please post a comment if you know otherwise.)

First and foremost, TSMC is being conservative as they always are and they are shielding their #1 customer which is Apple. There is no way the second half of the year will be 5% growth with Apple single sourcing 10nm from TSMC for the next iPhone and iPad. TSMC will again be in double digits (10-15% revenue growth) for 2017 as I previously stated.

This is going to be another strong year for the foundries but I do find it interesting that while the semiconductor foundry business is posting double digit gains the semiconductor industry as a whole is relatively flat… Comments?