hip webinar automating integration workflow 800x100 (1)
WP_Term Object
(
    [term_id] => 3611
    [name] => IoT
    [slug] => iot-internet-of-things
    [term_group] => 0
    [term_taxonomy_id] => 3611
    [taxonomy] => category
    [description] => Internet of Things
    [parent] => 0
    [count] => 548
    [filter] => raw
    [cat_ID] => 3611
    [category_count] => 548
    [category_description] => Internet of Things
    [cat_name] => IoT
    [category_nicename] => iot-internet-of-things
    [category_parent] => 0
)

#IoT Big Data is worthless!

#IoT Big Data is worthless!
by Diya Soubra on 11-08-2016 at 7:00 am

I have been writing about big data for over three years now. In all that I wrote and many articles that I read, there is an underlying assumption that people naturally accept the huge economic value associated with big data. It turns out that this is a bad assumption. They don’t!

There are many people that see big data as worthless and they are totally correct. Data is actually worthless until it is transformed into information. In this example, McKinsey states that only 1% of the data collected from 30,000 active sensors is actually used, the rest is wasted. I believe that the same applies to many other deployments. Industry is generating terabytes of data and we have only just started to process that data to extract meaningful information. Big data is truly worthless, the economic value is actually in the extracted structured information. People talk about big data but they actually mean structured information.