[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => STMicroelectronics
    [category_nicename] => stmicroelectronics
    [category_parent] => 14433
)

FDSOI jump-start 2015 in Tokyo this week

FDSOI jump-start 2015 in Tokyo this week
by Eric Esteve on 01-19-2015 at 4:38 am

This news in May 2014 that Samsung had licensed FD-SOI Technology from ST-Microelectronics was really amazing, as most of the industry was expecting this kind of agreement, but not with the #2 SC Company. But since May 2014 the news flow has been quite reduced, we can imagine that both SC companies had a lot work to do for transforming the agreement into real. Transferring a complete new process is certainly a heavy task (but I am not an expert), building an efficient ASIC flow, including EDA tools and maybe as much important the right IP offer can take several quarters. It seems that Samsung will unveil their FD-SOI offer during the RF-SOI and FD-SOI Forum, organized by the SOI consortium in Tokyo this Friday, January 23[SUP]rd[/SUP]. If you don’t travel to Tokyo this week (I don’t) you will have to wait for the proceedings to be released, it will certainly be worth the search on: RF-SOI and FD-SOI Forum

If you are not familiar with SOI, let’s me clarify the difference: RF-SOI is dedicated to pure analog IC (Radio Frequency), as the Silicon On Insulator technology provides strong advantages for analog designs: “Devices formed on SOI substrates offer many advantages over their bulk counterparts, including absence of reverse body effect, absence of latch-up, soft-error immunity, and elimination of junction capacitance typically encountered in bulk silicon devices. SOI technology therefore enables higher speed performance, higher packing density, and reduced power consumption.” This sentence is extracted from this blog.