hip webinar automating integration workflow 800x100 (1)
WP_Term Object
(
    [term_id] => 468
    [name] => Mobile
    [slug] => mobile
    [term_group] => 0
    [term_taxonomy_id] => 468
    [taxonomy] => category
    [description] => 
    [parent] => 0
    [count] => 311
    [filter] => raw
    [cat_ID] => 468
    [category_count] => 311
    [category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Mobile
    [category_nicename] => mobile
    [category_parent] => 0
)

IoT Application: Road Biking Fitness

IoT Application: Road Biking Fitness
by Daniel Payne on 08-10-2014 at 8:00 pm

Eleven months ago I started a fitness kick in order to lose some weight, get healthy and have more energy, so I picked a familiar activity, road cycling. Being an engineer I have always loved measuring things, like my speed and distance, however I had an old-fashioned cyclocomputer called the Cateye Velo 2. This device connected to the handlebars and a wire went down the front fork to a sensor that picked up the magnetic signal from a spoke-mounted magnet.

Being some 10 years old, there was no mechanism for the Cateye Velo 2 to transfer the cycling data to a computer or the Internet, so I went searching for something high-tech that would connect my ride data to the web. My first approach was to use an Android-based cell phone with GPS enabled and a free app called Strava.This worked pretty well to show me a map of the route, speed and elevation.

The Strava app worked fine on my Samsung Galaxy Note 2 phone, and I just had to be patient waiting for the GPS signal to lock before starting a new ride. When the ride finished I pushed one button in the app to sync my ride data by WiFi to the Strava web site.
Related: Non-volatile Memory in the Internet of Things

Somehow I wasn’t content with just velocity, because I wanted to know my cycling cadence and heart rate too. My next approach was to buy a wireless device and I looked at several companies: