[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Events
    [category_nicename] => events
    [category_parent] => 0
)

The Best and Worst of #51DAC!

The Best and Worst of #51DAC!
by Daniel Nenni on 06-05-2014 at 4:00 pm

When people ask which DAC is the most memorable I used to say my first because I was a new college grad and it really was exciting. The next DAC was memorable since it was in Las Vegas and my beautiful wife joined me. This year was DAC number 30 for me and of course it will be the most memorable since I signed hundreds of copies of “Fabless: The Transformation of the Semiconductor Industry” during the book signing Tuesday night and signed more just walking around the exhibit hall, and for that I thank everyone.

When Paul McLellan, Daniel Payne and I started blogging on SemiWiki in 2011 we wanted to bring social media to the semiconductor industry. It was our feeling that if you wanted to get the younger generation involved you had to speak their language. Fortunately I have four children who taught me how to speak it and now SemiWiki has surpassed the one million user milestone. What an amazing experience this has been, absolutely.

When Paul McLellan, Beth Martin, and I decided to write a book the motivation really was to bring the history of the fabless semiconductor industry to an even wider audience. We made good progress this week by giving away 1,500 books with the help of eSilicon, Atrenta, Tanner EDA, Solido, and EDA Direct. Online sales of the eBook had another spike this week as well and for that I again thank you all.