You are currently viewing SemiWiki as a guest which gives you limited access to the site. To view blog comments and experience other SemiWiki features you must be a registered member. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

  • Low Power Design

    rEDActor Wiki-lp.jpgSo you want to do a low power design. Join the club. Who doesn't? Today all designs are low power, it is the biggest constraint on what we can do on a chip. Power down; power domains, variable clock rates, mixed Vt libraries. Every trick is needed. And that is not even enough. We get to put our phones on charge each evening and there are people out there wanting their internet of things (IoT) to last a week. Or a month! Or forever.

    Title / AudienceDateTimeDurationModerator / CompanySpeaker / Company
    Title:
    Full-Custom Low Power Design Methodology with MunEDA WiCkeD


    Audience:
    Circuit designers, project leaders and managers responsible for analog/RF low power design
    2014-05-19
    2014-05-19
    2014-05-19
    2014-05-19
    2014-05-19
    08:30 BST
    09:30 CEST
    13:00 IST
    15:30 CST
    16:30 JST
    01:00
    Dr. Marat Yakupov
    MunEDA GmbH

    Dr. Marat Yakupov
    MunEDA GmbH
    Description
    Low power consumption is a major design objective of integrated circuits for mobile and battery-driven applications. Particularly analog/RF designers must balance complex and difficult trade-offs between various circuit performance metrics, robustness, and power consumption. In this webinar we show how MunEDA’s circuit sizing and analysis tool suite WiCkeD helps the analog designer achieve better design results in a shorter time. Basics of analog low power circuit sizing methodology will be discussed, as well as practical circuit applications.





    So it all depends on what sort of design you are doing. Big digital block, lots of clock gating and stuff. But a big analog block. Not so quick. But MunEDA has a webinar to help you.

    Analog/RF designers must balance complex and difficult trade-offs between various circuit performance metrics, robustness, and power consumption. In this webinar they show how MunEDA’s circuit sizing and analysis tool suite WiCkeD helps the analog designer achieve better design results in a shorter time. Basics of analog low power circuit sizing methodology will be discussed, as well as practical circuit applications.

    Who knew state of the art design could be so wicked? Or WiCkeD. OK, that is the most weird capitalization I've ever seen.

    rEDActor Wiki-yakupov_marat.jpgAnyway, MunEDA has this webinar coming up on all this stuff. Wicked is actually a tool suite for nominal and statistical design. Which is basically design, these days. If you are in an advanced process there is simply a lot of stuff you simply can't ignore. And for analog design the possible errors are so large that you need to look at this stuff whatever process generation you are using.

    The webinar is titled Full-Custom Low Power Design Methodology with MunEDA WiCkeD and is presented by Marat Yapupov from MunEDA in Mun (that would be Germany). It is at 9.30am European time which is 3.30pm or 4.30pm in Asia. Sorry Californians, you don't want to know the time in your area (OK it is half an hour after midnight).

    The registration page is here.


    <br> <a href=/cgi-bin/m.pl>More articles by Paul McLellan…</a>

    <script src="//platform.linkedin.com/in.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script type="IN/Share" data-counter="right"></script>