[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Intel
    [category_nicename] => intel
    [category_parent] => 158
)

The Infamous Intel FPGA Slide!

The Infamous Intel FPGA Slide!
by Daniel Nenni on 03-11-2014 at 10:30 am

As I have mentioned before, I’m part of the Coleman Research Group so you can rent me by the hour to better understand the semiconductor industry. Most of the conversations are by phone but sometimes I do travel to the East Coast, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and China for face-to-face meetings. Generally the calls are the result of an event that needs further explanation or just a quarterly update. Again, as an active semiconductor professional I share my experiences, observations, and opinions so rarely will I agree with the analysts or journalists who rely on Google for information.

In 2003, Kevin Coleman founded Coleman Research to give investors a better way to access industry knowledge. Coleman helps thousands of clients get answers to their most critical questions, without leaving their desks. Rather than spending hours reading research reports, or traveling to meet people at conferences, we connect clients directly with industry experts, to hear immediate, relevant insights.

The Intel analyst meeting last November was full of surprises and resulted in a series of phone consultations. The Intel 14nm superior density claim slides were the most talked about and were absolutely crushed by TSMC, which I wrote about in “TSMC Responds to Intel 14nm Density Claims”. The other slide that caused a flurry of calls is the one above comparing Altera and Xilinx planar to FinFET. After talking to dozens of people (including current and former Altera, Intel, and Xilinx employees) I have concluded that this slide is an absolute fabrication. Get it? Fabrication? Hahahahaaaa….