[filter] => raw
    [cat_ID] => 18
    [category_count] => 415
    [category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Intel
    [category_nicename] => intel
    [category_parent] => 158
)

Can Intel Catch Samsung? Can Anybody Catch Samsung?

Can Intel Catch Samsung? Can Anybody Catch Samsung?
by Daniel Nenni on 11-08-2013 at 5:00 pm

As a professional conference attendee I see a lot of keynotes, some good and some bad. I saw a great one from Kurt Shuler at the SEMICO IP Impact Conference last week. Why this conference was not standing room only I do not know. Kurt’s characterization of the semiconductor industry was well worth the price of admission. I didn’t actually pay to attend of course since I’m an internationally recognized industry expert and soon to be bestselling co-author of “Fabless: The Transition of the Semiconductor Industry”. But I am certainly glad I left my Lazyboy Command Center and made the drive to Silicon Valley, absolutely.

First let’s look at Kurt. We are friends so I’m a bit biased but his credentials are very impressive. He started with a BS in Aeronautical engineering from the Air Force Academy followed by 6 years as a Navigator and Electronic Warfare Officer, Special Operations Forces. During that time Kurt was decorated for courage under fire and outstanding combat leadership after successful missions in Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iraq, and Haiti. He followed that with an MBA from MIT plus stints with Intel, TI and related technology start-ups. Recently, his current employer (Arteris) was purchased by Qualcomm for an obscene amount of money. So yes, Kurt is definitely someone you want to listen too.

Kurt’s keynote (slides) followed his recent article in EETimes “Wake Up, Semi Industry: System OEMs Might Not Need You” which highlights the changes in the semiconductor business climate. It’s a great article and the comments are worth a read too.