[category_description] => Semiconductor Intellectual Property
    [cat_name] => IP
    [category_nicename] => ip
    [category_parent] => 0
)

A Big Thank You to EDA and IP

A Big Thank You to EDA and IP
by Daniel Nenni on 10-05-2013 at 10:00 pm

Electronic Design Automation Software and Semiconductor Intellectual Property are not so much the tail that wags the dog, rather they are like the heart of an elephant, tiny in comparison but without which there is no elephant. There is no doubt that EDA and IP have been key enablers of the semiconductor industry for the past 50 years so what better time to celebrate our achievements!

True story: When my son invited me to career day at his elementary school he asked me what I did for a living. After I explained EDA and what I did he went silent then said, “Dad, you fly planes, right? Can you talk about that?” I talked about airplanes and we all made paper ones and tossed them around the classroom. It was a good thing that I did because the other father was a Fireman (coincidently my son is now a Fireman).

Fortunately, with smartphones, I’m a rock star now. My kids get new iPhones every two years for Christmas and I’m the only Dad around that actually knows what is inside them and what new features are coming around the corner. Thank you EDA and IP!

As Paul McLellan wrote in “Back to the Future: 50[SUP]th[/SUP] Anniversary of EDA”, EDAC is hosting an event to celebrate 50 years of EDA on October 16[SUP]th[/SUP] at the Computer History Museum:

Nearly five decades ago, a new era in electronics innovation was born: Electronic Design Automation (EDA). And the world has never been the same. Before EDA, integrated circuits were designed by hand and manually laid out. EDA changed all of that, providing ways to automate the design process and take electronics to places never dreamed possible.