[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Cadence
    [category_nicename] => cadence
    [category_parent] => 157
)

Happy Birthday Dear Cadence…

Happy Birthday Dear Cadence…
by Paul McLellan on 08-14-2013 at 8:30 pm

Cadence is 25 years old this year, on June 1st if you want to be precise.

The most direct ancestor of Cadence was SDA (which might or might not have stood for Solomon Design Automation). SDA was founded by Jim Solomon in 1983. It turns out that a guy I shared an office with while we were both doing our PhDs in Edinburgh Scotland was one of the early employees: Graham Wood. After getting his PhD he worked at Bell Labs at Murray Hill for a time before moving out to California. I got my PhD and came straight to California and joined VLSI Technology, itself a pre-IPO startup when I joined although it went public in 1983 before SDA even existed. Graham suggested that I should come and interview at the new SDA but I decided I was happy at VLSI Technology where we were creating the ASIC revolution and had, at the time, the best IC design tools available. I wasn’t smart enough to realize that the money was all in the software and customers would not want their EDA tools to be tied to their manufacturing. Graham went on to invent SKILL which, even today over 25 years later, is at the heart of Cadence’s layout environment.

SDA was funded in a novel way by subscriptions from a handful of semiconductor companies, initially National Semiconductor (where Jim Solomon workd) and General Electric. Subsequently they would add Harris Semiconductor, Ericsson, Toshiba and SGS (in Italy, today it is the S in ST Microelectronics). These companies knew that semiconductor design was changing but that they didn’t have strong enough internal groups to develop their own toolchains.