[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Concept Engineering
    [category_nicename] => concept-engineering
    [category_parent] => 157
)

IC Test Debug at Altera

IC Test Debug at Altera
by Daniel Payne on 04-05-2013 at 1:22 pm

My background is IC design engineering, so it’s always a delight to talk with another engineer on their chip challenges. Today I spoke by phone with Sucharita Biswas, a Senior Hardware Engineer at Altera involved in IC test debug for FPGA devices.

Q: What is your IC design and test background?
A: I’m a test engineer at Altera, and also worked at Sun Microsystems. I have a Masters in EE and have done memory BIST (Built In Self Test) and logic BIST. I work on testability aspects of new products, checking out the silicon.

Altera Stratix IV wafer, 40nm process

Q: What types of tests are you writing?
A: I have been working on PLL testing, distributed memory testing, and the core IP. Other groups test the IOs.

Q: What are you testing for?
A: Several things: stuck-at faults, transition faults, and path delays. The strategy is to use DFT approaches, and structural test with functional vectors.

Q: What type of EDA tools are used in your job for test debugging?
A: We discovered the StarVision Protool from Concept Engineering and have been using it to help us view the design, and verify our DFT approaches. We have mixed netlists with RTL, gate and transistor-level. With StarVision we can view the entire design, then come up with a test approach that makes sense.

It has a cone view, so that we traverse the design and see the cone of logic expand.

We work across geographies with a team in Penang, and they can quickly pick up where we end off each day.