[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Cliosoft
    [category_nicename] => cliosoft
    [category_parent] => 157
)

Data Management for Designers

by Paul McLellan on 03-21-2013 at 8:05 pm

Back when I was a programmer at VLSI Technology in the mid-1980s, I was responsible for all the data management in the VLSI Design Tools. By responsible for, I mean that I designed the whole system and wrote all the code. Prior to the 5th release of our product, there was no data management, designers simply used filenames and it was up to them to keep track of what they were doing. Of course, as software developers, we had a source-code control system. We actually rolled our own before eventually we switched to ClearCase years later, then almost the standards before the open source alternatives like subversion and git took over.

The challenge with data management for designers is three fold. Firstly, designers are not software engineers and so complex configuration schemes the software people are used to are going to either baffle them or not get used. By complex configuration I’m talking about things like forks and merges. Secondly, designers often live in a graphical environment on their desktop and are not just typing commands into a command line interface. This means that any data management needs to be integrated into the tools so that it doesn’t require the designer to go somewhere different. The third thing is that the files involved are either binary or, even if text, are meaningless to the designer and only mean anything to the software engineers creating the tools. For example, looking for changes in a netlist the way it is represented in a file using a text diff type tool is not useful.