[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Tanner EDA
    [category_nicename] => tanner-eda
    [category_parent] => 14433
)

Image Sensor Design for IR at Senseeker

Image Sensor Design for IR at Senseeker
by Daniel Payne on 03-05-2013 at 10:30 am

Image sensors are all around us with the cell phone being a popular example, and 35mm DSLR camera being another one. Last week I spoke with Kenton Veeder, an engineer at Senseeker that started his own image sensor IP and consulting services company. Instead of focusing on the consumer market, Kenton’s company does sensor design work for the military and scientific markets.

Read Out Integrated Circuit (ROIC)
Interview Questions

Q: When did you get started in IC design?

A: I graduated in 2001 from Texas A&M, then worked at Raytheon doing image sensor design in So Cal, now called Raytheon Vision Systems. I earned a Masters degree in AMS IC design, and at the university we did chip designs.

Kenton Veeder, Founder of Senseeker

Q: What did you work on after Raytheon?

A: In 2008 I went to work at a Boston-based start-up called SiOnyxand started using Tanner EDA tools like L-Edit for designing new photonic devices.

Q: When did you start-up Senseeker?

A: We returned to Santa Barabara in 2009 and then I started my IP and consulting business. Sunseeker engineering was founded on 9/9/9. We design complex digital image sensors and use most of the Tanner EDA tools:

• Schematic capture with S-Edit
  • Circuit simulation with T-Spice
  • IC layout with L-Edit
  • DRC and LVS with HiPer Verify
  • Verilog-A for modeling

Q: How large is Senseeker?

A: It’s two of us working together as a team. Both of us are mixed-signal IC designers. I’m specialized in D to A converters for image sensors, my coworker does the rest. Both of us are front-to-back designers, doing both schematics, layout and simulation.
The IC layout itself plays a huge role in image sensor design.

Q: Who are your customers?