[category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Arm
    [category_nicename] => arm
    [category_parent] => 178
)

Battling SoCs: QCOM vs NVDA vs Samsung

Battling SoCs: QCOM vs NVDA vs Samsung
by Daniel Nenni on 01-13-2013 at 7:00 pm

If I had to describe CES in one word it would be exhausting. There were 3,000+ vendors, 150,000+ people, lines for everything, but 100% pure excitement. Even my beautiful wife was intrigued by the technology that shapes our lives. The smart toaster was of great interest to her since she says I time my toast with the smoke alarm. The new SoCs were of the most interest to me since that is what I do for a living. Qualcomm, Nvidia, and Samsung all launched new SoCs but the Samsung marketing machine trumped them all. It really was quite a show, even Bill Clinton showed up for it.

Before the opening keynotes Nvidia formally announced the Tegra 4 which is TSMC 28nm versus the Tegra 3 at 40nm. With four Cortex A15 CPU cores and 72 GPU cores the Tegra 4 is the fastest SoC on the market (my opinion). It will also be the most expensive (my opinion). Tegra 4 uses the ARM Big/Little architecture so there is a fifth ARM A7 core for power management duties. We don’t count the little cores so this is a quad core SoC.

At an opening keynote Qualcomm introduced its 2013 line of Snapdragon SoCs, the Krait 300 and Krait 400, which are faster and capable of handling UHD. The architecture improvements and Qualcomm’s use of LPDDR3 RAM have reportedly upped the performance by 40%. The Snapdragon’s quad-core’s maximum clock rate has been given a boost from 1.7 GHz to 1.9 GHz.

At the Samsung keynote the Exynos 5 Octo SoC was announced touting the first 8 processor core SoC. Again using the ARM Big/Little Architecture, Samsung attaches one ARM A7 Little to each ARM A15 Big thus the 8 processor claim, the amazing and distorting Samsung marketing machine at its finest.