[filter] => raw
    [cat_ID] => 497
    [category_count] => 136
    [category_description] => 
    [cat_name] => Arteris
    [category_nicename] => arteris
    [category_parent] => 178
)

Arteris answer to Sonics: should compare actual NoC (in Silicon proven SoC) performance, instead of potential, unproven NoC performances!

Arteris answer to Sonics: should compare actual NoC (in Silicon proven SoC) performance, instead of potential, unproven NoC performances!
by Eric Esteve on 12-02-2012 at 5:06 am

It seems that Ateris vs. Sonics war, initiated by Sonics in 2010 on the legal battle field, is now continuing on the marketing field, as far as I am concerned, I prefer the latter, as I am an engineer and not a lawyer, and I must say that playing in the marketing allow both companies to extract the most attractive features of their products. Such a battle is good for design engineers and decision makers, as they can learn about the state of the art for products like Crossbar, Silicon fabric and Network on Chip (NoC).

A couple of weeks ago, Sonics board member Jim Hogan has used deepchip.com as a marketing battle field to develop quite a strong offensive: not less than 6 articles posted to describe the Network-on-Chip (NoC) market, commons definitions terms about it, Make-or-Buy decision; and more, including an article dedicated to comparison of Sonics SGN vs. Arteris Flex NOC vs. ARM NIC 400. Today, we will focus on this comparison table, as Kurt Shuler (VP of Marketing with Arteris) has proposed an answer to this specific article. Kurt has reviewed the comparison table, and provided some point by point corrections, when needed… in fact on almost every table entry. I strongly suggest you to take a deep look at Kurt’ answer and the corrected table here, so you can make your mind by yourself. I can give you a summary of the key points that Kurt has highlighted in his article.